theheartofmen

Love

Posted on: 17/01/2012

When I was younger I always heard in movies and read in books that you can’t choose who you love and I always thought it was utter rubbish. Why can’t you choose? I was determined to disprove this theory so I devised a method. I’d meet a guy that suited my ideal profile, I’d force myself to obsess about him for a long time, then I’d convince myself I was in love…lol….this sound silly but it worked…

As I got older, and dated a guy that was miles away from my stencil I realised the difference between LUV and LOVE. Love NEVER dies. If you really loved a person at one time you will always love them you will always be ready to go to the ends of the earth for them no matter what. You will forgive them anything. Take time to think deep down. The men/women in your life that you truly loved are your friends today or will be your friends tomorrow. You will always feel that sting of jealousy when they tell you about the new ladies/dudes they are seeing. You will always try to find some way to convince yourself that he is settling for her even if you know the truth. You may be mature enough to be polite to their wives but you will never be friends with them. When things go wrong with you, you have no qualms about telling them about it because deep down you know they love you too and they know you well enough to give to you good advice.

Many times we are infatuated and we fancy ourselves in love. We don’t even know the man’s flaws and we dream of a home with him. Honey, when you look into that man’s eyes and you KNOW that there is nothing he can do to turn your heart against him permanently, then you have arrived. You don’t always date who you love or love who you date. Some people have never loved and some have sworn off love but as I approach 30, I realise that “you have never lived until you have loved”, and you certainly can’t choose whom you love. A while back I told a friend I’d rather have loved and lost than not to have loved at all. At the time of you losing it seems like the world is about to end. But when love is real and pure, there comes a time when the memory of that person comes with a smile, whether they left you for someone else, it just didn’t work out or they died. True love doesn’t leave you with fantasies of hurting that person. You find out that you want he or she to find happiness where ever they find themselves. No matter how much it hurts to watch them leave, you are just grateful and thankful for the time you did have.

This is dedicated to all those who have loved and lost….i know i have…lol

1 Response to "Love"

I have loved and lost, so I know exactly what you mean.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • livelytwist: Interesting topic that we need to come to terms with. As you pointed out, "...no matter how much you miss your past, there’s a reason you left in th
  • angelsbeauty: Word!
  • Bee: Spot on 👌

Categories

